AWAKE, Jacaranda’s 15th season, explores conscience and consciousness with six program ideas: environment, power, solidarity, sensuality, science, and identity.

January 20

Frederic Rzewski – The People United Will Never be Defeated (1975)
Julius Eastman – Gay Guerilla (1980)

Solidarity: Pianist Inna Faliks and three friends perform the epic protest classic The People United Will Never Be Defeated by Rzewski, and LA premiere of Gay Guerilla by Eastman to observe Inauguration Day.

February 24

Andre Jolivet – Chant de Linos (1944)
Eric Tanguy – Sonata for Two Violins (1999)
Olivier Messiaen – Oiseaux Exotiques (1956)
Messiaen – La Mort du Nombre (1930)
Betsy Jolas – Quatour II (1964)
Claude Debussy – Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune (1894, arr. 1920)

March 17

Iannis Xenakis – Psappha (1975)
Olivier Messiaen – Quatre études de Rhythm (1950)
Jean Barraqué – Piano Sonata (1952)

Sensuality and Science: February and March concerts update Jacaranda’s 2007-2009 Messiaen celebration – his models, peers, and students – to highlight the sensuality of Jolas and science of Barraqué. Sopranos Delaram Kamareh and Suzanne Waters, pianists Steven Vanhauwaert and Aron Kallay, and percussionist Jonathan Hepfer are featured.

May 19

Manuel De Falla – Fantasia Baetica (1919)
Roberto Gerhard – String Quartet No. 2 (1962)
Gerhard – Three Impromptus for Piano (1950)
Tomas Peire-Serrate – Awake (2013)
Peire-Serrate – React (2011)
Gerhard – Fantasia (1957)
De Falla – Homenaje a Debussy & La Vida Breve/Danza No. 1 (1920)
De Falla – Harpsichord Concerto (1926)

Identity: The season will climax with three generations of Spanish music. Recent works by Peire-Serrate; solo piano, solo guitar, and string quartet (Lyris) music by Gerhard, mid-century master; plus solo piano and guitar finds, and the Harpsichord Concerto by de Falla with Gloria Cheng.